The Path

Hi friends!

I know, I know, it’s been a long time since my last post. I’ve been super busy with work the last few months. I’ve had more than my fair share of nights in the last few months where I came home, ate dinner and promptly passed out. Poor Missy can attest to this. I’d get in a document to write with her and within minutes I was out cold. Damn comfy bed. I’m going to put the rest of this under a cut in case you don’t give two shits about my personal dramas.
As I mentioned in one of my last posts, work hubs departed for greener pastures and things around the place I was working slowly went in the crapper from that point on. It turns out he was very right when he told me that my boss’s wife was going to make me want to quit in short order. At first I thought work hubs was nuts. I mean, she seemed nice enough and there were presents. I can admit, I was blinded by the presents a little bit. She was just so appreciative of everything I was doing and she was telling me how I was the person she had been praying for and blah, blah, blah.

Yeah, well, it didn’t take long for her true colors to come out. Then last week I was off on Thursday and Friday night she was getting ready to take off when she asked me where my calendar/planner thing was. I told her as far as I knew it was in the same spot it always was. Only it wasn’t there. Where was it? I have no clue. Still don’t. When I left on Wednesday night it was in the same place and always and somewhere between then and when I came back to work on Friday, it disappeared. If I had it, I would be more than happy to give it to her. What am I going to do with a planner that has start dates, termination dates and days that people requested off? Honestly.

Yet, since I couldn’t explain where this planner went, I must have lost it or stolen it. First of all, it’s MY planner so I can do with it whatever the hell I want. It’s not company property. Second of all, I have no idea where that planner went. When I suggested she check her security cameras if she didn’t believe me that I hadn’t been to the shop in the last 36 hours, she got pissed. Umm, forgive me but isn’t that the point of having security cameras, so you can see who is coming and going from the building? But checking the cameras is just too much work, apparently.

According to her it’s weird that I got defensive when she accused me of being a liar and a thief. Excuse me for not wanting to be accused of things I didn’t do. Excuse me for being personally offended by the suggestion that I would lie about something so ridiculous. I mean honestly, if I was going to lie about something like that I’d do a much better job of covering my tracks. You know, like two weeks ago when she accused me of “breaking into” their shop invoices to make copies for work hubs and his current boss so they could steal customers. The kicker to that one was I left the evidence on the printer. I’m no genius but if I was going to do something like that, I sure as shit wouldn’t leave the papers lying on the printer for someone to find in the morning. I have no idea where she would even get an idea like that.

Oh, and for the record, the owner figured out that it wasn’t me that was responsible for that. It was one of the drivers we fired not long before. He was printing that information and attaching paperwork that had HIS NAME ON IT to make sure he was getting paid his bonuses. Did she apologize to me for suggesting that I was essentially double crossing them? Nope.

Bottom line, the planner was just the latest instance of being blamed for things that I had no control over. My former boss even tried to diffuse the situation by sticking up for me but it was no use. I don’t particularly care to be labeled as a liar or a thief. I didn’t steal anything and I didn’t lie about knowing where the planner is. All in all, her attitude toward me had shifted for no real reason I could understand. She’s the type who makes up her mind about something before she even asks someone else about it and if their answer doesn’t match what she’s decided the truth is, they must be lying.

I have no clue how to deal with a person like that.

So I made the decision that it was time to get the eff out of there before that shady broad made something more significant go missing. Like cash. The last thing I need is to end up in handcuffs because she’s claiming that I know where missing money is. Hell, she tried to accuse me to stealing cash on Friday night because she forgot that a driver brought her change from a $100 bill. So yeah… it was time to get the fuck out while the gettin’ was good.

Which means I am back on the hunt but I feel good about my decision to leave, even if it wasn’t the way I wanted to go. I did apologize to Chris, the owner, because I didn’t want to leave like I did. I just didn’t trust his wife not to royally fuck me over with her 90 shades of crazy.

I can’t afford to be out of work for too long but while I am out, I’m hoping to get some writing done, maybe clear out my DVR and play chauffeur for my mom who has some medical stuff she’s been putting off for the last few months because I’ve been so busy with work. I definitely won’t miss working 60+ hours a week.

I had a small panic attack on Friday night in the wee hours of the morning because you know, I’m an adult with bills and whatnot. It’s not generally very wise to quit a job without having another lined up. I know that. It’s that knowledge that had me panicking about what I’m going to do for the next few weeks. Ugh. So Friday was payday. I didn’t cash my check over the weekend because I overheard the boss say that he had a lot of money going out but the accounts were low. Not wanting to deal with yet another check returned for insufficient funds, I decided to wait until today to cash it.

So I go to the currency exchange I usually go to (I hate banks with a flipping passion) and find out that the last paycheck I cashed there bounced and has yet to be cleared up. Great, right? So I go to a branch of the bank that issued the check. Guess what? Insufficient funds in the account! So calls had to be made for an override. Let me tell you, I felt damn good about my decision to leave after that debacle. Thankfully I only have one more check coming to me after this. I truly won’t miss that bullshit. All told, 6 paychecks bounced in the year that I was there. That’s ludicrous. I have never had that happen anywhere else I have worked. Like my mom said when I called to tell her about this, they’ll most likely be out of business by the end of the year at this rate.

Honestly, I won’t be surprised if that’s the way it turns out. I don’t know how they’ve managed to stay in business as long as they have with some of the shit that goes on there. To make matters worse, she’s driving people out faster than she can hire replacements. Perfectly good employees have started in quit in rapid succession because of her. If she thinks people want to work 70 hours a week for a hair over minimum wage, she’s sorely mistaken. It’ll take running the business into the ground for her to get it.
Oh well. Not my circus, not my monkeys anymore.

I just hope that I find something else that I don’t absolutely hate to fill the void.

4 thoughts on “The Path

  1. Oh man, what a crazy situation. I’m glad you left. I hope you find another position quickly. Maybe new place will have a sexy work hubs 😉 xoxo

    • A sexy work hubs is not a prerequisite, although I wouldn’t turn down some eye candy. Mostly, I want to find a job that I won’t hate myself for going to the way I started to dread going in to work at the shop. If the money is decent and I don’t hate myself, I consider that a win/win.

  2. I’m with you I would’ve left to. You don’t need to accusations and they really did seem to esculate. Fingers crossed and good luck finding a new job.

  3. You know, you might want to try going to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission with all of this and sharing the evidence you have with them about this woman and the workplace, eg, the paychecks that could not be cashed for insufficient funds (one might be acceptable, but 6? This is akin to not paying employees for their work in a timely fashion.), as well as this woman’s blatant accusations, etc.. You may or may not need written proof of this as you have someone who has attempted to assist you with her accusations, etc. The EEOC investigates these situations fully and you’re able to sue for monetary gain when you have been slandered as you have been. In addition, this would help you greatly to file an unemployment claim even though you left your job voluntarily. There are reasons for your having done so, the most obvious being that you were previously accused of taking money, and one of the reasons you left was in fear of this woman accusing you of doing so in such a way that you would find yourself being arrested for theft and all that would entail. In essence, you felt that you were left with no choice because this woman was hell bent on firing you in the long run; she was forcing you out of a job one way or another for no other reason than her dislike of you. A word of caution; the EEOC and the investigators work at a snail’s pace. With any luck, you have someone to give you a good reference that will enable you to get another job as soon as possible. If you go this route, do not reveal that this is ongoing matter while it is under investigation. It’s not complete so you don’t have to reveal anything. This woman deserves to be reported and investigated. She’s a menace to employees everywhere!

    You seem to be a hard worker, someone who wants paid for an honest day’s work. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

