That Awkward Moment When…

You know a murder victim.

Yeah, I can officially cross that off my bucket list. I realize I sound a little insensitive about this but I have a reason for it. I grew up in a small suburb of Chicago. If you’ve flown in to O’Hare at any point, you were pretty much in my backyard. I often refer to my hometown as Mayberry.

That is until today when Rosemont, Illinois had a second homicide committed within village limits. Murder isn’t the kind of crime that happens in Rosemont. Traffic violations/accidents, the occasional bar fight or vandalism at one of the hotels, sure. Maybe even someone gets mugged at the train station or something, but even that is rare. Crime, in general, is pretty rare in Rosemont.

Then today a guy I went to elementary school with was shot to death by his brother-in-law. I was classmates with the victim’s wife. It’s been years since I lived in Rosemont and even longer than that since the last time I spoke to Deanna (the wife) but I remember when I heard that she was marrying Joe (the victim) that I thought it was a bizarre coupling. He was always such a prick. He was a bully and mean to just about everyone he came in contact with. I knew from the conversations I had with Deanna and the guys she dated in high school that she had a thing for “bad boys” but it’s one thing to date one in high school and another to marry one thinking you’re going to change him.

Apparently Deanna never got that memo, and Joey never changed.

Granted, I don’t know the full story here but I can pretty much guess how it went down. I also knew the shooter. Again, small town and all that. Deanna came from a pretty good family. It’s purely speculation from where I’m sitting since I don’t know the ins and outs of their marriage but I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised if there was domestic violence in that marriage and Deanna called her brother for help and it resulted in Joey getting shot.

I find it completely bizarre that everything I’m seeing on Facebook from old classmates and kids I went to school with is an outpouring of sympathy for Joey. Yeah, he’s the one that’s dead but why is that? I seriously doubt it’s because Ricky went on a shooting rampage since the body count stops with the dickhead that was smacking around his big sister.

I don’t feel the least bit sorry for Joey.

I feel sorry for Deanna who will now have to raise their child alone. I feel sorry for the fact that she just lost her husband and now might lose her brother if criminal charges are filed against him. I feel bad for that child who will grow up without a father. I feel bad that the child may have problems with his uncle because he was doing the right thing and it cost that kid his dad.

Forget for a moment the fact that Ricky is a cop because I don’t think that factors into the story at all. He was off-duty at the time. In that moment he was acting as a brother who was concerned for the well-fare of his sister and his nephew.

So no, I don’t know the full story but the article I linked at the start of this little rant? I think it paints a pretty good picture of the kind of person Joey was and it falls in line with the person I remember. Maybe he didn’t deserve to die but I’m not sorry he’s dead.

Leave a Reply

